How do we all manage dev, when the hardware is tied up and working with the house?

I’m a dev noob. At best i’m a script kiddie with delusions of grandeur :wink: My HASS setup has grown to the point where it’s difficult to apply new elements, or implement & test creative development without taking the house offline! the WAF means I struggle to dev to my satisfaction whilst keeping the infrastructure i’ve already worked on up and running.
How do people manage the contstant upgrade cycle / new component integration / general automation dev, whilst still keeping the house working?

I have a HASS dev environment set up on my MacBook - you can find instructions how to set up a dev env on the website. Its also where I have the IDEs I need set up (mainly PyCharm and Arduino IDE, along with GitHub desktop) so that I can quickly iterate on code and run HASS to see the changes in action.

This way my production install of HASS stays clean and I don’t need to be restarting it constantly and disrupting lights and sensors etc around the house.

I can also use it to test config for new components before adding them to my production machine.

I use a separate instance to test new functionality/config.

For upgrade, I’m running hass in a docker container, when a new version is release, I simply create a new container with the new version.
If there is problem I can stop the container and restart the old one until I figure out what’s wrong.

1 Like

Does this play well with your current version? I have thought of having a separate instance like this but wondered if it would cause issues with two HA instances making requests to the same devices etc.