How many lights are on?

As you can tel from the name I am very new to this. I decided at 61 I need to challenge myself to start a new hobby and this looked the perfect fit after having sonoff products for a few years. Three plus weeks in and OMG what cant HA do!! I am in awe of the amount of codes flying about on here to enable all sorts of intergrations, only thing is I havent got a clue what I am doing. Is there a novice page anywhere? I have managed to copy a bit of code from somewhere (forgotten where) and put it in a template card to count how many of my lights are on.

{{ states.outlet|selectattr('state','equalto','on')|list|length }}

Is there any way of showing how many are on in bed 1 or in the longe etc this just counts all of the lights. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Absolutely, you can.

Letā€™s reformat your code a little - it makes no functional difference, but itā€™s easier to break it down:

{{ states.outlet
  |selectattr('state','equalto','on')
  |list
  |length
}}

OK, so line 1 is referring to all states, line 2 selects all things that are on. line 3 lists them and line 4 essentially counts them
What you want to to is only have the Ines that are say, ā€œloungeā€

Weā€™d add an extra filter for thatā€¦

{{ states.outlet
  | selectattr('state','equalto','on')
  | selectattr('entity_id','search','lounge')
  | list
  | length
}}

That extra line is a filter that looks for entity_Id's that have the word lounge in them (bearing in mind it is only choosing from a list that is already set to on).

btw, Iā€™m not sure about states.outlet, Iā€™d use sates.light and also count

{{ states.light
  | selectattr('entity_id','search','lounge')
  | list
  | count
}}

ā€¦also, the filter that looks for entity_id could also look for friendly_nameā€¦

| selectattr('attributes.friendly_name','search','lounge')

The search function uses RegEx, so you can play with that as well.