How risky is not encrypting access to my HA instance?

I have a Google Onhub (which lacks NAT loopback) and every time I try to encrypt HA using the instructions here and here and (one more, but the forum won’t let me post more than 2 links because I’m a newbie), something goes wrong and I lose access to the frontend entirely - negating the whole point of me trying to encrypt in the first place. I’ve re-flashed my Pi3 about a half dozen times, starting over from scratch each time, because I just can’t get it to work.

I decided to table encryption for a while and just focus on getting things set up the way I like them, and now HA is pretty indispensable. I set up external access with duckdns last night but have skipped encryption for now for fear if I try to make it work again it’ll break the frontend again. I’m frankly pretty tired of re-flashing and just want to get on with enjoying HA.

I know encryption is important and the safest way to access things, but what if I just skip it? How much risk am I really inviting to my network?

Probably limited risk to your network.
BUT, you are opening up the physical devices of your house to be controlled by anyone in the world with the skill and inclination to try.

1 Like

In my case, i’m having troubles with the encryption as well, however I won’t open it up to the outside without it just to not invite any unwanted people :slight_smile: noting no movement reported can always be handy info for burglars (not saying they won’t try something without that knowledge, but let’s not risk it ; - ) ).

I do have some outside access though thanks to the homebridge plugin for home assistant (iOS only). I can imagine I would seek other alternatives when I’m on an android because outside access is a fun bonus :slight_smile:

Good luck with it!