How to calculate daily power consumption from DSMR sensors?

Hi All,
I’m quite new at HASS, but got my configuration to work. Much easier with HASS than with other Domotic’s! Compliments for the developers! :+1:
Part of my configuration is the DSMR component which sensors actual power consumption, and the total power consumption.
I am looking for a way to keep track of daily power consumption:
Subtract the values of total power consumption at midnight and the value at the midnight before. But I could not find a way to access the historic value. Perhaps there are easier ways to achieve this? How to do this? Any help will be appreciated!

3 Likes

Hi, I’m try to achive the same… did you ever figure out how to do this?

Hi!
No, I did try some things with templates and also combined with MQTT, but did not succeed in this topic. Do you have any suggestions?

Nope, I’m also new to HA, so my knowledge is limited. Is it maybe possible to update a custom sensor at the beginning of the day capture the meter begin usage and update another custom sensor at the end of the day to capture the end usage of that day. And than calculate to the usage for that day?

Should get you values over a period of time.

1 Like

Hi Pedro, I’ve looked at this… maybe I don’t get it but I think what I want to achieve isn’t possible with this sensor.

we have a sensor called “sensor.power_consumption_normal” it’s value at the beginning of the day is lets say “1916.385” then at the end of the day, it’s value is let say “2016.385”.

Total energy use for this day would be 100. (end value 2016.385 minus begin value 1916.385)

I would like to have a new sensor that’s called “senor.power_consumption_today” with that value…

Is that possible? if so… how?

All help is greatly appreciated!

1 Like

I think you can do it by creating 3 automations + input_numbers that get the value of your real sensor at a specific time: