How to configure Let's Encrypt SSL Certificates for Home Assistant completely 100% free (Updated for 2022/2023)

UPDATED 2/22/2023: It looks like Cloudflare may be preventing users from getting Let’s Encrypt certificates using domains that end in cf, .ga, .gq, .ml or .tk. In order to continue with a completely free solution, you may need to implement your own DNS server as described by the EFF (organization that created LE). Due to the complexity required, a new help document will need to be created and will likely be beyond the skills of the novice home user.

I’m brand new to Home Assistant and was going through the documentation and found that they could use some updating. So I figured I’d do the Open Source thing and update it myself.

This topic will cover how to enable Let’s Encrypt for free SSL certificates and enable you to use your own domain that you can get for free (as of this writing). There is this old topic from May 2020 (Updated in 2021). The Let’s Encrypt Addon makes obtaining the certificate much easier.

There is also this blog post that is even older and many of the settings do not apply to the current version of Home Assistant.

Much of the configuration can be done by someone who has very little technical skills.

I should also note that while “hands-on-keyboard” time is likely to be about a two hours MAX, the total amount of time it will take to set everything up is 1-2 days due to how DNS works. If you want a faster turn-around, you can continue to use DuckDNS (or similarly free subdomain providers) but I’ll walk you through how register a free domain.

Services we’ll be utilizing:

Get your domain first

When you get a domain name, the name and configuration must propagate throughout the root DNS servers around the globe. On average, it can take 1-2 days, but I recommend giving it three days for good measure.