How to control non-smart desk lamp / general lights-logic

I am new to home automation, and I am currently setting up a raspberry-pi/HA based solution in my appartment. I already got myself a couple of z-wave based motion sensors, which I want to trigger lights.

Now I am having this desk lamp which is having a manual switch, which means I will not be able to smartify this lamp easily. One thing I can do, however, is to get somthing like this:

and then leave the lamp always running, but only control it via HA.

This might work out for simple logic (turn on by motion, turn off if 10 minutes no motion), but how should I go about more complex logic? E. g. there could be a situation when I don’t want to turn it on, or I want to manually turn it off. In this case, it will be cumbersome to turn the lamp off using the HA app (especially since it unfortunately does not support widgets), and of course turning the lamp off with the manual switch will break automation.

Second situation would be my living room lights which I want to control using IR LED attached to the pi (the lamp can work with a remote control, fortunately). So the logic would be to turn the lamp on on motion, and turn off after some time without motion. If I imagine watching TV with this, it would at some point really piss me off because it will toggle lights when motion is detected, and toggle again when I am lying/sitting still for a while.
This could be solved with conditions which evaluate the TV state itself (luckily I am running a webOS 2 TV which can be controlled by HA), but what if at some point I want lights + TV? But during a creepy movie I want no lights + TV?
I know this is probably the perfect example for predefined scenes, however I am wondering if switching the scene would not equal the effort of just manually switching the lights? :thinking: