How to copy and run shell scripts in docker container on Lubuntu?

I have some shell scripts which I want to run from my HA installation, but can’t work out how to copy the scripts from my Lubuntu folder to the HA docker container and run them. I’m a HA/Linux/Docker novice, so I was wondering if anyone could provide guidance on how I can get the scripts into the correct folder in the container, with the right permissions?

I have the following entry in my configuration.yaml referring to the scripts:
shell_command:
lms_qry_alb: 'bash /config/shell/qry_alb.sh {{text1}} {{text2}}'
lms_qry_alb_song: 'bash /config/shell/qry_alb_song.sh {{text1}} {{text2}} {{text3}}'

…and I used this command to install my HA docker container:

sudo docker run -d --name="home-assistant" -v ~/homeassistant:/config -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro --net=host homeassistant/home-assistant

The shell scripts are currently in my ~/homeassistant folder. Could anyone tell me which commands I need to copy them to the correct folder in my container and give HA permissions to execute them?

all you should have to do is make a “shell_command:” entry in the configuation.yaml file then write out the commands that you want as you did in the first section.

But it looks like the shell command is calling another shell command located in a different folder. Why did you do it that way? Couldn’t you just write the final shell command into the first shell command declaration?

And HA in docker doesn’t understand “config/shell/…”.

in docker the “/config/” directory is read by home assistant as the equivalent of the “/home/homeassistant/.homeassistant/” if it was installed in a venv.

If you move the shell commands out of being directly written inline in the configuration.yaml file you need to add an !include statement that tells HA where to find those files.