How to create a robust configuration by defining a function to compute device state? + ideas for a triggerless paradigm

Hey all, I’m quite new to Home Assistant, just set it up yesterday. I’m trying to figure out how to structure my automations to reliably match desired behavior.

Example automation + problem

As an example, one simple automation is to turn on some lights a bit before sunset and turn them off at 11pm. This is straightforward to do with two automations, one that turns them on with the sun trigger, and another that turns them off with the time trigger. However, this solution has some imperfections that bug me:

• If there is a power outage or persistent network glitch, such time triggers can get skipped. This forum comment suggests that you would also need to have triggers for HA start - what a laborious pain! And it is very hard to tell if you got it right because these circumstances are hard to test.
  • You need to keep the automations in sync - if I add a new light I need to remember to add it to both.
  • There is no concise definition of how a given entity will behave, instead it is spread across the effects of all your automations that act on it. I read somewhere that one thing people like about node-red is that it makes it clear when there are cross-automation interactions.
  • When initially configuring this light behavior, and it is in the time interval the light is on, it would be reassuring if the lights came on. Of course, they do not with the trigger-based scheme, as something has gotten lost in translating the desired behavior of “the lights are on between these two times”

Solution sketch

What I want to be able to write is simply:

switch.light_socket_1 = now_is_between('sunset - 00:30:00', '23:00:00')

The system would then ensure that the light’s state matches this. A simple way to do this might be to trigger frequently, say every minute, and run turn_on or turn_off.

Question: is it ok to spam off / on?