How to create a 'Shadow Climate Controller'?

Hi,

I’m new to Home Assistant (an thus ESPHome), but having tons of fun with it so far! Unbelievable what has already been implemented!

I now seem to have hit a brick wall with what I want to do.

My situation
I have 2 Panasonic A/C units that I now control with this third-party integration, which works very well. However, we also use the IR-remotes that came with the A/C, but them being send-only they are mostly out-of-sync with what the A/C unit is actually doing! Leading to massive frustration with some members of the household…

So I decided to try and make a separate thermostat unit with ESPhome, based on a LilyGO TTGO ESP32 with integrated ePaper display, combined with a rotary encoder (I already have an external temp sensor in both rooms). I already got the display and rotary encoder set up with an internal Thermostat Climate component from ESPHome, to show and change the target temperature, as well as the current room temperature.

What I want to do
So now I want somehow couple this thermostat to the Panasonic A/C unit’s thermostat so it always shows it’s current state, while being able to control it as well. So whether you change the setpoint with the thermostat, or with the IR remote, or some automation in HA: the display should always reflect the current state! So I would need some kind of bidirectional link between the two of them.

I know there is a ‘homeassistant’ platform that lets you pull sensors and such from HA into an ESPHome device to work with. Alas, no homeassistant.climate implementation exists.

How would I tackle this one? I’m not afraid of doing C++ or Python coding: I already needed to implement an epaper_menu (based on lcd_menu) as that didn’t seem to exist as well.
How to get state updates from the real Panasonic Climate object in HA into my ESPHome device?