How to define an unsupported device starting with a fresh Home Assistant install !?

I am new in the Home Assistant world, installed Home Assistant and tried to connect some devices. No problem for some supported devices, but not for my NOUS E6 Thermometer and Humidity sensor.

Others do have that problem as well see [Device Support Request] NOUS E6 TS0601 _TZE200_nnrfa68v · Issue #1702 · zigpy/zha-device-handlers · GitHub and do have solved it at least to some extend.

However that is where this problem starts:

• I have a fresh Home Assistant installation
  • and I really have no idea which steps I need to take (and how)
  • to include, use and setup the findings as described on the git page

My feeling is that I first have to install and configure all kind of things before I can install and use the github code from the example. But perhaps / hopefully I am wrong.

Can someone give me a hand / explain what exactly to do starting from a fresh Home Assistant install !?

I just received a mail saying that
In order to install the quirk manually you need to create the “quirks” sub-directory in your HomeConfig directory. Then in “quirks” dir create a file, say “nous_e6.py”, and paste the quirk. Save the file. Restart HA.

But perhaps very stupid, but I really have no idea how to dot that from the GUI.

I would appreciate,

Louis

After some help and a lot of investigation I finally have the device working. However a lot of steps where needed.
So for every body new like me, I describe the steps below.

Preparations

• make sure that the computer you use does reboot after a power outage
  • take care in your dhcp server that home assistant gets every time the same IP-address
  • you should have a ssh-client installed on your (windows) computer e.g. Bitvise SSH client

After a fresh Home Assistant install take the following actions:

1. Advanced Configuration htt_ps://www.home-assistant.io/getting-started/configuration/