How to do maths in sensor template with esphome on hassio?

Hi, I have not been using Home Assistant for long and have been enjoying using esphome to make my own sensors. I have a BME680 sensor and have used the example at https://esphome.io/cookbook/bme280_environment.html to help me to learn the programming as I am new to yaml and c++.

The example calculates “absolute humidity” using the following equation:

return (6.112 * powf(2.718281828, (17.67 * id(bme280_temperature).state) /
        (id(bme280_temperature).state + 243.5)) * id(bme280_humidity).state * mw) /
        ((273.15 + id(bme280_temperature).state) * r); // in grams/m^3

so I have adapted the variable names a bit in my project, and I want to have the “dew point” calculated using the equation at https://planetcalc.com/248/.

I am having a problem because the compiler errors on the log function:

src/main.cpp:639:46: error: invalid operands of types 'esphome::template_::TemplateSensor*' and 'float' to binary 'operator+'
       return ( (b *(dpinter + logf (rh->state)) )/( a - (dpinter + logf (rh->state)) ) ); 

I have been told I should include the math.h library but am not sure how.

Can some please tell me how to do this - I assume I have to download it from somewhere?

I can provide more info if needed, but have tried to keep the posting short.

Thanks in advance, Robert

My Bad.

I am now calculating the dew point successfully. The necessary functions are available. I did not understand the error message when I posted.

I am happy to post more info if anyone is interested.

Please do.

OK

I hope this helps…

esphome:
  name: ringlight
  platform: ESP8266
  board: d1_mini
  esp8266_restore_from_flash: true

wifi:
  ssid: '---'
  password: '---'

i2c:
  sda: D2
  scl: D1

sensor:
  - platform: bme680
    temperature:
      name: "BME680 Temperature"
      id: temp
      oversampling: 16x
      filters:
       - offset: -2.8  // odd, but mine was wrong!!
       - multiply: 1.0
    pressure: