How to easily upgrade to new physical devices? (renaming, name templates, etc.)

Question
I’ve received new color bulbs to replace single color smart bulbs.
Question 1: How do I easily replace the entity names throughout HA and Node Red?
Question 2: Is there a way to make this easier in the future?

Current Setup
I’ve been using HA for a few months and have 6 smart bulbs and received 7 more as a gift. I’d like to replace two single color bulbs with RGB bulbs I received. I’ve not yet added the new bulbs to HA.
The two ‘old’ bulbs are named:

• light.living_room_lamp_left
  • light.living_room_lamp_right

I’ve used a similar schema for all devices.

Question 1 - Replacing those bulbs
What is the easiest way to replace the single color bulbs with the RGB bulbs?

Option 1
Delete the old bulbs from HA and add the new devices. Give the new devices the same name.

Option 2
Add the new bulbs with their own name and find+replace the old device names through automations, scripts, Groups, Alexa integration, and NodeRed.

Option 3
Is there a better way?

Question 2 - Making it easier in the future
I’m willing to completely redo my setup for device naming to make the future easier…

Option 1 - Using Groups as a variable template?
I’ve considered putting each bulb in it’s own group by itself. Providing an abstraction layer between the friendly name used in automations, scripts, and NodeRed. This way I could change the actual device name without having to change any automation or NodeRed flow.

Is there any downside to this?

Example:

light:
  - platform: group
    name: Living Room Left Lamp
    entities:
      - light.rgb_bulb_1
  - platform: group
    name: Living Room Left Right
    entities:
      - light.rgb_bulb_2

Option 2
I’m at a loss… Any ideas?
Or, is it even necessary to attempt this because Question 1 - Option 1 (see first part of this post) is really the easiest way?

Option 1 seems to involve the least amount of work.