How to extend a function for an Entity

Hello folks,
I’m studying some option. I came across that for instance it is possible to overwrite a class in a manner to get more functions. So I saw the ToggleEntity for a switch and I’d like to add one more function to that.

The function consists to make a pulse on an output, without having to involve the entire system to trigger a switch.turn_on, delay, switch.turn_off cycle.

That’s frequently necessary for those devices which needing just a short pulse to initiate the action. Some of them might be register themselves as cover, because they have limit switches, whereas other won’t have any feedback, so it would be merely relied to a counter to keep track of their current state.

So I was writing a little function, which just call turn_on and stay a bit idle and then will call turn_off, perhaps without living the function. But I didn’t find the method to register such new function…

@property
    def pulser(self, **kwargs):
        """Trigger the cover."""
         asus_gpio.write_output(self._port, self._invert_logic ^ 1)
        sleep(self._relay_time)
        self._state = False
         asus_gpio.write_output(self._port, self._invert_logic)
        return asus_gpio.read_input(port)

Definitely on my way to make asus GPIO working :stuck_out_tongue:

Question: how the new function will be enlisted ?

Sorry, I don’t have a good answer for you.

Can you point me to where you found that it is possible to extend stock Home Assistant classes? Is this an approach supported by the Home Assistant project, or is it more of a hack?

I’m not sure how much free time you have available, but might consider making a pull request to the Home Assistant project to include your pulse operation in stock HA. This could be useful for others as well.

https://developers.home-assistant.io/docs/en/entity_index.html

Indeed I couldn’t find a mention. I expect that we may extend any class functionality as per python permits.