How to get LAN IP:port address of HASOS in links sent to speaker/media_player instead of external URL?

Hi,
Original title was: “Can’t get ESPhome speaker/media player to play on-server content. DNS fails.” but I sorted that out, partially.
I made an ESP32 Voice Assistant that half works: I can use voice to turn things On/OFF and I can use the Media Player control from Devices/MyESPDevice/Control to play media from external DLNA sources, but I can’t play music I copied in the HASOS Media Server even though I can browse to it and select it; not can I “say” anything using the TTS tester by the media sources; even though the audio file gets created and I can play it if I copy the URL from the log in a browser.
I’m a noob at this, but I searched a lot, and I suspect my problem may have something to do with TTS calls do not include the port number in the URL.
So, I think my hardware is OK but I must be missing some configuration, and I also get the spoken replies, albeit not without Google (or other external) DNS.
I use the latest HASOS, DuckDNS and an apache proxy.
A link from the log for TTS looks like this:
https://myDNSname.duckdns.org/api/tts_proxy/0ae04e66200484218de7bd20937fe8be5f17dad2_en-us_894b186240_tts.piper.mp3
… and from the post I mentioned above it looks like having the port number added somehow to the IP may work, but what do I know?
I just noticed in the log that something else may be most relevant: after the URL, there’s a line stating:
[WiFiGeneric.cpp:1438] hostByName(): DNS Failed for myDNSname.duckdns.org
So maybe it’s not about the port number? Somehow, how could I replace the host name with the IP address?
As you can see below in my own reply, I was able to fix the main problem by adding a DNS server to the ESPhome wifi section.