How to implement a "timed circuit breaker" for a toaster oven?

hi! Im a noob here and happy to be back on the Home Assistant bandwagon thanks to CasaOS and Docker!

We (I should say I) left our toaster oven on accidentally for 5 hours. Thankfully, no fire :pray:t3:

I installed Home Assistant because the default Meross app only lets you set a timer that makes the oven turn “off” after say 90 minutes. So even if you use the toaster for 10 min, 80 min later, it will turn off and the next time you use it, you have to toggle the switch. Not very convenient.

So looking through all the nifty automation options, I’m sure this can be accomplished in Home Assistant.

I tried to set up one of the cookie cutter automations for the oven to turn off after it’s been on for 90 min and realized we’re not timing a light switch where the timer starts when you turn it on.

What I really want to implement is a “timed circuit breaker” - so the plug is always on (and the oven is often just “off”) and I want to trigger an event to turn off the plug if the plug senses that the oven has been consuming electricity for 90 minutes straight.

What is the easiest way to implement this?

Something I find curious is the smart plug (MSS110QUA) is capable of “knowing” when someone turns on the oven even when the plug is “on” - I know this because the plug is on for hours, you push the button on the oven to turn it on and the plug starts a timer (you can see the countdown start in the Meross app) and turns off the plug in 90 minutes (regardless of how long the oven has been on as I mentioned above) - again, to be clear, the plug when ON, is capable of detecting when the device starts using electricity and communicating this to the Meross cloud/app to trigger the countdown timer.

In Home Assistant, I see “Main Channel” on/off and “Do Not Disturb” on/off for this particular plug.