How to install forked Core to test integration

Hi

I’m very new to HA and also to software development and github.
I want to use a forked core, in my case this one from nicolasberthel (https://github.com/home-assistant/core/pull/35288) and i am wondering, if there is a quick start guide on how i can do this.

Maybe there is also a way to use the actual release of HomeAssistant on one RPi and this fork on an other one and integrate this two together?

Thanks
Norbert

1 Like

I haven’t tried this for homeassistant, but have for other repos. Here is how I think you would do this for a local HA core installation:

1. create a python virtual environment for this version of HA (google around if you haven’t done this before) and cd to the directory you setup for this (should see directories like bin, lib, etc)
  2. activate this for your shell i.e. $source bin/activate
  3. from the activated shell, cd to the homeassistant repo you cloned/downloaded. You should see in this directory files such as requirements.txt and setup.py
  4. pip3 install . (dot meaning install from current directory)
  5. If this worked, now cd back to the directory you setup for this virtual environment, and try to run HA $ bin/hass

Good luck!

It should be much simpler than that, since all the changes are confined to the new becker component. Just create a custom_components/becker directory in your config directory, grab all of the homeassistant/components/becker files from that PR, and stick them in custom_components/becker. Any core component can be pulled into the custom_components directory and it will either override an existing component or simply be pulled in as a new component.