How to keep old energy statistics history when changing the main meter sensor?

Hi there,

Forgive me, I’m new to this.

My system is tracking our home’s total energy consumption using a Shelly 3EM. In a few weeks, the old Ferraris meter will be replaced by a modern smart meter that HA will be able to read from.

Since the new smart meter will make the Shelly 3EM obsolete, I want to remove the 3EM from the system (or use it for a different purpose). However, I want to keep the home’s energy statistics, e.g. so that I can compare my current consumption to historic consumption.

How can I simply continue the total energy consumption history tracking while using a different sensor?

Thank you!

[I found this older similar topic Changing Energy-meter but want to keep old readings that never got a response.]

3 Likes

I’m not an expert on this, but I noticed that so far no one else has responded. So I’ll give it a go.

First, I’d leave the Shelly’s in place for awhile and compare data compared to your Smart Meter data. The Shellys are not too expensive and perhaps you would wish to keep them in place and buy new ones for your other project.

Also, I assume you are referring to the Energy Dashboard. Otherwise I don’t think there is necessarily an issue to solve … depending on your needs.

I THINK that you may be able to update your Energy Dashboard as follows to switch sensors and keep historical displays.

1. Enable the Smart Meter in HA and collect data. Ensure the entities are configured correctly for use with the dashboard (especially if you use manual integration):
    Integrating your electricity grid

2. Disable the primary entities for the Shelly’s, but to not disable the integration entities. This should hopefully stop the integration (value will stop increasing). I’ve not tested this - just my best guess.

3. (Promptly) Add the appropriate entities to your Energy Dashboard (e.g. Add Consumption, Return etc.):