How to make such automations

Hi all, I want to something like ‘home assistant’ with such features:
-when door sensor changes check if motion sensor detected movement for last minute - if so then: turn off light, check weather and say it, check my upcoming events from google calendar and say them
-otherwise, turn on light and say how long I was away
-other voice notifications for movement events

So I expect these conditions to be pretty complex so I’m going to create my own integration. I started learning python so I think I see this task as to create some ‘box’ with input data (time events and events from movement and door sensor) and output data (another events on which I can subscribe in automation and do actions).

I don’t quite understand where to start. Which class I need to subclass to be able to read sensor events? How to emit my own events? Would be grateful for code examples

Sounds like a relatively simple automation to be honest, with a choose.

3 Likes

I don’t thunk it makes sense to create a custom component for this.
This should all be doable with native HA automations.

2 Likes

Yep, I agree with both Tink (though other syntax(es) are available :rofl: ) and Burning.
Fairly trivial with minimal loading on the system, no issues with upgrades leaving your integration requiring major re-writes to keep up etc.

Do you have the names of the relevant entity_id’s ?

Well I don’t think it’s easy to make long list of triggers, conditions and actions. I’m a java developer and I’m gonna get some python experince so it’s the best solution

@Mutt, what integrations can be used to do this?

I have 2 motion sensors (gonne buy 2 more):
binary_sensor.xiaomi_motion_1 (and _2)
and 2 door sensors (binary_sensor.xiaomi_door_1)

Very simplisticly:

trigger:
- trigger: state
  entity_id: binary_sensor.front_door
  to: 'on'
action:
- choose:
  - conditions:
    - condition: state
      entity_id: binary_sensor.motion
      state: 'off'
      for: '00:02:00'
    sequence: