How to pass an entity_id as an argument to a script

Hi. Newbie here, (my second post). I have been configuring HA (Hassio on Ubuntu) for about a month and so far it has been great. I’ve now run into a problem I can’t seem to figure out.

I’d like to refactor a few scripts that I reuse down to one by passing an entity_id.

I set up a test so that I can get the syntax right before I make changes to my prod environment however I can’t pass an entity_id to a script from an automation.

I am getting the following error “Error executing script. Invalid data for call_service at pos 1: extra keys not allowed @ data[‘entity’]”. I’ve looked through the forum, the question has been asked before:

I’ve tried several options but nothing has worked; at my wits end now so any suggestions are welcomed (sorry for the long post). My code is:

Automation -

- id: '7'
  alias: New Automation
  description: ''
  trigger:
  - entity_id: switch.lamp_tv
    platform: state
    to: 'on'
  condition: []
  action:
  - service: script.test_arguments
    data: 
      entity: "{{ switch.lamp_tv }}"

Script -

test_arguments:
  alias: test_arg
  sequence:
  - entity_id: "{{ entity }}"
    service: homeassistant.turn_off

You will need a data template in your script. Variables can’t be used outside of the data template

This should work I believe:

trigger:
  condition: []
  action:
    data: 
      entity: switch.lamp_tv
test_arguments:
  sequence:
  - data_template:
      entity_id: "{{ entity }}"
1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion Pippyn. I tried your code and unfortunately got the same error message. I also tried curly braces and quotes around the entity data variable in the automation and same result. It seems to me that I am missing some really simple rule or syntax, I’ll keep reading and trying. :thinking:
cheers
Nick

I’d advise to read the HA documentation first - have you checked this?