How to play sound files as alarms and notifications via Raspberry Pi 4 audio socket?

Hi
I’m a total beginner with home assistant and I wonder what would be the most straight forward way to do the following:

Use case:
I live in a top floor apartment with roof windows. When I leave my apartment in the morning and one of the roof windows is still open I want to get an audio notification through a speaker near the apartment door.
The notification must be immediate. It won’t help if it plays when I’m already on my way to the car.
I have no network connected audio system like Sonos.
Speech synthesis is not necessary. Being able to play specific wave files for specific notifications would be enough.

Preferred solution:
I want to connect a cheap powered speaker to the audio output of the Raspberry Pi 4 that runs home assistant and use it for all kinds of audio notifications. I would upload wave or mp3 files to the Raspberry Pie and specify which file to play in my automations.

It already existed:
I have searched for existing solutions and I know that there have been a couple of working ones in the past but none of them seem work with the current version.

How would you archieve the described functionality?

Best Regards
Zebi

I believe the way to do this now is by using the VLC addon:

Thanks. Is it no more correct that I first need to install a sound service like pulse audio to enable local audio output?

I have now installed the Add-On and the integration. When I play a short sound file from the media page and select VLC_TELNET as target the sound is played but it is interrupted several times.

Meanwhile I noticed that VLC is adding every played sound file to an evergrowing playlist. This is not what I want.
I need a simple sound output. Is there really no way to do this in Home Assistant?

I was under the impression that VLC worked now. There is a simple way that I use but it is not by connecting a speaker to home assistant.