How to protect HA in case of mobile device theft?

Hi people!

I am quite new to Home Assistant, but I do have a first setup running. I can even remotely access my HA instance through VPN (OpenVPN server running on a synology NAS). On my mobile device I can use the HA app, just like when I am at home.

Recently, I was thinking about what happens when I lose my mobile phone, or when this device gets stolen. A person that obtains my device, can easily enable the VPN connection on my phone and then enter my HA instance. Obviously this is an undesired situation and I am wondering how others make sure this cannot happen? I am very interested in how I can secure my HA from unwanted visitors.

I have looked on the forum, but couldn’t find something related to this. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

If they steel your phone and can get access to it then you might have a lot more to worry about than HA. Its why phones have access security such as finger print sensors.

4 Likes

In addition to Arh’s very valid point, you can login on PC, click on your user icon on the bottom left & delete the refresh token for your android device.
Unless whoever steals your phone also knows your login credentials for HA, there’s no way they’ll be able to get in

2 Likes

Presumably you want the HA app on your phone to create the various sensors. You might consider how much you really need them and whether there are alternatives. I have a credit card sized BLE tag in my phone cover which does the home/away stuff. I confess I have the HA app as well, but the only sensors I really use are battery level, is charging and wi-fi connection - none essential. Without the app you could use a browser to access HA and log in/out every time.

Otherwise it comes down to basic phone security: lock screen, pin-protected apps and a security system which will allow you to brick it remotely. How would you protect your banking app?

1 Like