How to reach Home Assistant through Starlink

Hello all,
As newbie here (just installed HA on Pi4 in March): I ran access through the iPhone app with DuckDNS what worked fine with Xplornet through satellite. Making a change toward StarLink I noticed that not only other devices are sending their data out any more but how to access HA through a StarLink connection? No direct IP accessable and the VPN’s that StarLink suggests are not intergrated in HA (yet). I hope to make the switch soon to fully StarLink if I’d know how to. Does anyone have idea’s how to do this?

1 Like

I’m trying through remote.it but because HA uses web socket, I can’t get to to work :frowning: I can get other protocols like SSH to connect to my Raspberry Pi but HA refuses. Not what you wanted to hear I guess but it’s something to try. May be you’ll get more luck than me.

Oh yes, I just found it!! With communication with Starlink I tried TailScale now, that is integrated in HA. And it works! Pretty simple to set up and I do not need to turn on or off when I come in the house or leave. Just GREAT!!

can you elaborate on your set up. I was excited to create home assistant on my Pi and take it to my cabin with starlink just to discover it won’t work remotely. I would love to give your solution a try but I am unsure what it is that you did.

looks like this might be the process The EASIEST VPN for Home Assistant - Tailscale Install - YouTube

1 Like

I’m looking at starlink, does this not work with nabu casa?

1 Like

It works. I’m currently using nabu casa with Starlink

1 Like

NabuCasa nearly always work due to the way it is designed.

The big issues with remote access are practically always the connections initiated from the internet.
This is where a users router lack features, where the routers NAT cause problems, where portforwarding is bugged, where the ISP use CarrierGrade NAT (CGN) or where the ISP does not route certain packets/protocols.