How to restart zigbee2MQTT after a Home Assistant Restart

I am new to Home Assistant, started migrating everything across at Christmas.

What I am looking for is a way to get Home Assistant to automatically restart zigbee2MQTT after Home Assistant has undergone a restart. I am sure it is possible just not figured it out yet and hoping for a pointer :slight_smile:

Issue

I have noticed every time I use the Home Assistant Developer Tools/Restart/Restart Home Assistant when Home Assistant comes back up all the zigbee2MQTT devices are unavailable in Home Assistant, all are working fine in zigbee2MQTT but all lost in Home Assistant.

I have worked around this by remembering ( most of the time) to restart zigbee2MQTT in the Add ons.

Desired outcome

But would like to find a way of avoiding the issue, ie some other restart method or automate the zigbee2MQTT restart once Home Assistant comes back up.

I have searched but not found anything that fits so far.

Relevant data
Core 2024.2.3
Supervisor 2024.02.0
OS 11.5
Frontend 20240207.1
zigbee2MQTT 1.35.3

Any ideas of what I am doing wrong or an automated workaround?

Something like this:

- id: '1565194745362'
  alias: Status starting HA
  trigger:
  - event: start
    platform: homeassistant
  action:
  - service: hassio.addon_restart
    data:
      addon: 45df7312_zigbee2mqtt
2 Likes

Thanks for the response - much appreciated.

New to Home Assistant …

Is this yaml? and do I just create an automation, edit in yaml and paste it in there?

Do you have it set to start on boot?

It’s still interesting though since the add-on shouldn’t be affected by a restart of Home Assistant. It would be affected by a reboot of the host though.

it is an automation, so this should work:

1 Like

yeh

It is a consistent issue, took me while to understand why my graphs on Dashboards were failing, I am using Node Red from my standalone zigbee2MQTT days so the Home Assistant automations, I have very few of them, were not having an impact.