How to run home assistant supervisor in a docker container

Hi,

I am new to home assistant. And what I want is to run home assistant supervisor as a docker container. Is there a way to do so ? I have gone through official documentation and for supervisor installation what they have provided is

and also few pre-requisites are also mentioned:

But these steps are mentioned to run HA supervisor on a full fledged os. But I want to run it inside a container.

Any help regarding this would be appreciated…

1 Like

Hi, I did it with this manual:

Install Home Assistant (Supervised) on Debian

Basically the supervisor is a docker container. So you want to run the supervisor and the other containers inside an own docker container?
If so, pull an image of like debian or ubuntu, create a container of it and inside of it execute the install script.
But i have to ask why you want this? Running a bunch of docker containers inside a docker container would be redundant

Thanks for the reply @pedolsky
The link that you shared is something that will help install supervisor and other containers on host os. But I want to run supervisor and the other containers inside a docker container.

That’s why I posted the link above.

Would you pleas explain your reasons?

Hi @tenn0

Exactly what I want “supervisor and the other containers inside a docker container”. I tried that but for this I need to run docker engine inside the container as well. For this I tried to load local docker engine inside docker container by running the container as
docker run -it -v /var/run/docker.sock:/var/run/docker.sock homeassisttesting:latest

For the question that you asked “Why do I want to do this ?”. It is a requirement. The place where I want to run home assistant supervisor, I do not have access to host OS and I can only test this by loading this as an image on it. That is why I want to bundle the entire supervisor and other containers in my own container.