How To : set up HA to communicate with Beckhoff PLC using ADS

Hi there,

I am completely new to home assistant.

I implemented my home automation with a Beckhoff PLC. Now I am ready to ‘move one step up’, getting HA to link the Beckhoff PLC and integrate it with other devices in our home (e.g. Denon AVR, Philips Android TV).

I recently bought a QNAP TS-453D NAS. I installed docker and created a HA container. HA is running on my QNAP and it automatically detected my Denon AVR, which I can control from the dashboard (on/off, volume). Very nice as a starter!

Looking for information on how to hook up my Beckhoff PLC to HA, I find some posts but up to now no information how to set up the connection from scratch in a step by step way. Could someone help me out here?

Thank you in advance!

I never used a PLC with HA. But what about modbus or maybe mqtt. Just used mqtt with plc from Schneider electric which is based on codesys too. Maybe beckhoff also supports an integration through mqtt.

Thank you for the suggestion Patrick. I will have a look at it.

I have a Beckhoff CX-8190 PLC. Out of the box, it supports real-time Ethernet, ADS UDP, ADS TCP, EAP (EtherCAT Automation Protocol) on it’s Ethernet ports. Probably the PLC, which is running Windows 7 Embedded, supports modbus TCP by installing a licensed software (TF6250?). However I would have to pay for this, whereas ADS is supported by default and HA has an integration for it. So the latter would still be my preferred method. On top of that, some of the posts in this forum indicate that people have been able to link a Beckhoff PLC to HA.

Hey that sounds cool. Didn’t know about that :wink:

Hello,

In the meantime, I have done some further research and trials.

As a reminder : I run HA on a QNAP NAS TS-453D, under a docker container.The PLC is a CX-8190 running Windows Embedded 7. I use Twincat 3.

My configuration.yaml file currently looks like this…