How to set up intercoms with tablets in each room?

i have a tablet mounted on the wall in each room. would be nice if i can use them to call each other, exactly like an intercom system.
i know i need a SIP client like SIPnetic, an app on Android. the app looks for a server so now i need a SIP server like Asterisk?
is there a simple solution to all of this already built into HA? would be nice if there’s a youtube guide on how to do all of this.

No, there’s nothing built in to HA for 2 way audio, but there’s a feature request for it which you can vote on.

There are also some HA projects listed here which should do what you want. The first 3 results when searching for SIP look promising.

you are right. it’s in the first link SIP client card, as intercom
i see both the client and the server are both add-ons! i remember tried this before. could not get it working, maybe with Asterisk the server because instructions were abysmal. maybe good enough for a techie but as a beginner i could not set it up. shockingly there are no vid guide for setting it up as well.

i remember now. the instructions here are too vague for an amateur like myself to follow along asterisk-hass-addons/asterisk/DOCS.md at d6b270dc76071ba494eaba443e9d11579ea4ba64 · TECH7Fox/asterisk-hass-addons · GitHub
if someone can guide or have a better link explaining how to set up intercoms between 2 tablets, i would be grateful!

Videos might be good for visual persons who find it hard to follow written instructions, but there’s a massive downside to them. The moment any update to the code is released, the video’s instructions are no longer (fully) valid and parts of the video might need to be reshot.

Documentation in github, on the other hand, can be updated immediately when the update is released, so you’ll always know it’s the correct set of instructions.

i got Asterisk installed. tried my best to fill out and left almost everything at default except the password.