How to start/stop Add-ons via command in HA

I am new at Home Assistant. I installed Home Assistant OS on Raspberry. I want to start/stop Add-ons via the command
ha addons stop/start ADDON

Works fine at the command line. But how can I create a switch? I added the following to the configuration.yaml

switch:
  - platform: command_line
    switches:
      ADDON_switch:
        command_on: "ha addons start ADDON-NAME"
        command_off: "ha addons stop ADDON-NAME"
        friendly_name: ADD-ON Switch

Nothing happens. I think the “command_line” is wrong. How can I use HA command in Home Assistant for that?

Thanks for support!

1 Like

Do you have a supervised HA?
f.e.

service: hassio.addon_stop
data:
  addon: core_mosquitto

• create an input_boolean (toggle) in helpers
  • create an automation using the helper switch

description: ""
mode: single
trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id:
      - input_boolean.addon_toggle
    to: "on"
    id: swichted_on
  - platform: state
    entity_id:
      - input_boolean.addon_toggle
      - switch_off
    to: "off"
    id: swichted_off
condition: []
action:
  - choose:
      - conditions:
          - condition: trigger
            id: swichted_on
        sequence:
          - service: hassio.addon_start
            data:
      - conditions:
          - condition: trigger
            id: swichted_off
        sequence:
          - service: hassio.addon_stop
            data:
alias: start-stop-mqtt
5 Likes

Yes, I have supervised HA. Your solutions helps me a lot!

Thanks!

Now, as an followup question, can this be done for integrations (:weary: looking @ kodi integration)

Yes.

Find the appropriate ID in /config/.storage/core.config_entries, then do a (example ID here)

service: homeassistant.reload_config_entry
data:
  entry_id: 97092915b445e81b8483e2f304258e93
1 Like

What are you trying to achieve?