How to switch off a device when its power consumption is below X for a certain time?

Hi there,

I’m using HA since around 1 1/2 years, nevertheless I’m quite new to stuff like automation.
I’ve some of them running now and they’re doing their job well, however, this time I’m struggling.

What I want to achieve is the following:

A device connected to a Shelly Plug S shall be switched off automatically once the measured power consumption is below a certain value (e.g. 14W) for a certain amount of time (e.g. 30 minutes).
On the contrary, it shall not switch off when its power consumption is above that value.

Since the “For” option in an automation would not survive a restart of HA, which is likely to happen in my case, I need some alternative and I think it can be managed by using a template.
But I’ve no clue yet how to do it, even after reading about this stuff.

Any hints are appreciated.

Thanks!

There are some other posts with temp store=ing values and they seem to point to : store this in input_number but I am not sure what precisely you think to loose from a restart unless you want to be very exact on the 30 mins and how often you restart (why?)

Hi,

thanks for your reply.

I thought that such a “For” timer would not survive any restart of HA.

But if that’s not the case and it would be only skipped in case HA gets restarted in the moment of where such a timer would countdown, then it’s OK for me.

Usually my HA only reboots during late night three times a week because of automated backup job.

You are right. It is the case.

delay/for/wait/etc all get cancelled any time HA is restarted or automations reloaded.

I usually create an input_datetime and set that to the desired off time in the automation for any timers (esp critical ones) over 5 minutes.

then I use that input_datetime to do the desired action at that time. that method will survive restarts/reloads.

I’ve posted about it elsewhere but I can’t find it at the moment.