How to track CPU Usage?

While on the hunt for my memory leak (it seems everybody has one :thinking:) I realized that my memory consumption jumps up (and is not dropping back down) when I have very high CPU utilisation.
As I seem unable to track memory consumption for components directly I started looking at the CPU Consumption.
However what “top” gives me does not make much sense to me.

If I understand that output correctly (please confirm) i have 0% idle time, and 84% of processor time spend in User Mode and 15% in Kernel Mode (sorry! I am a Windows guy by trade :rofl:). However none of the Usermode processes show any CPU Consumption!? How can that be?
How can I figure out what is consuming all available CPU time at random intervals?
My Home Assistant is running as VM in an Hyper-V Server (in case that matters).

Thanks!!

1 Like

type P

top then in console press P for sort-highest CPU, M for sort-highest Memory

Edit: ohh, and yes you are correct

1 Like

Thanks for the hint,

but all values show 0% (see screenshot above) so there is nothing to sort :slight_smile:

And how can I figure out where the CPU time in User Mode is spend if its not in the processes? What else does Linux treat as User Mode?

yes it looks weird , can’t help you alot, in this context, my cpu is around 1-2% ( including sys, where the top command seems most active :slight_smile:

However you dont tell much in regards to whether that high CPU is a “constant” or maybe after an upgrade, startup etc.