How to trigger an automation when the last of a collection of lights are turned OFF?

I’m new to Home Assistant and I’m pondering a way to accomplish something.

I’d like to know the best way to trigger an automation when the last of a collection of lights is switched OFF. And if one or more of the lights in the collection is turned ON, I’d like trigger another automation.

I want to treat the complete extinguishing of the lights in the collection as an indication that the occupant of the room has gone to bed for the night.

Any thoughts?

Create a light group. You can do this in the UI from Settings → Devices & Services → Helpers. You can read about it in the docs here

A light group will be on when one or more entities are on. The group will be off when all entries are off.

So once you have the group created, you can use it to trigger your automations.

1 Like

@mekaneck Thanks for the assistance. I’ve run into a snag. One of the lights I want to include in the group isn’t seen as a light by Home Assistant. It appears as a switch. I’m guessing it’s because it isn’t connected to a dimmer but rather it is connected to an ON/OFF wall switch. I have a number of light switches around my home that are Z-Wave Decora style ON/OFF units. Is there a way to get home assistant to allow switches and lights to co-exist in a group?

I noticed that when Home Assistant creates a dashboard it throws everything in a location into an Entities Card and puts a “Header Toggle” at the top of the card. That header toggle seems not to care if the entities are a mix of lights and switches. And it behaves in the way that you describe a group. If any of the entities in the location are ON the header toggle is ON. If every entity in the location is OFF then the header toggle is OFF also.

Any thoughts?

Choose the “Change Device Type of a Switch” Helper.

Open your Home Assistant instance and show your helper entities.