How to turn mqtt entity into a device?

Hi,

I’m new to HA, so I’m sorry if my questions is dumb, but I still need some help to understand HA philosophy.

I’ve built some custom mqtt controlled lights and switches using 1-wire and now I’d like to expose them into HA. I’ve added this to configuration.yaml:

light:
  - platform: mqtt
    name: "test_lamp"
    unique_id: "a1c386fc-7777-11ea-bc55-0242ac130003"
    state_topic: "test_lamp/light/status"
    command_topic: "test_lamp/light/switch"

Ok, now I have test_lamp entity on the home screen. But as long as it’s just an entity, I can’t add it to any area, since I has to be a device then. So I wonder how to turn an entity into a device, but I feel like my question doesn’t make sense and I’m missing something.

Please suggest! Thanks.

There is an explanation about how devices are build over here: https://developers.home-assistant.io/docs/device_registry_index/

Mqtt.light also has a 'device" parameter you can set.

Although I don’t know how to set it up, those are the places I would start looking.

This is an example of an autodiscovery mqtt message including a device:

topic: homeassistant/binary_sensor/garagedoor/config
‘{“name”: “garagedoor”, “device_class”: “garage_door”, “state_topic”: “sensor/garagedoor”, “unique_id”: “garagedoor”, “off_delay”: 30, “device”: {“identifiers”: [“rfbridge_564886”],“name”: “garagedoor”, “model”: “Digoo door sensor”, “manufacturer”: “Digoo”}}’

2 Likes

Thanks @123, @francisp, this is what I was looking for.

I’d love to find such example on the MQTT discovery specs page.

1 Like

I’m using Mosquitto with a SmartThings MQTT Bridge server, so there is no auto-discovery. I have a ton of MQTT entities that I can use to control and see the state of my ST gadgets, but I can’t get the entities built into devices.

Here’s the entity definition for a motion sensor I have configured in configuration.yaml, for example:

- platform: mqtt
  name: "Entryway Motion"