How to update/maintain Zigbee2MQTT and Mosquitto LXCs?

I have a Proxmox host with HA VM and 2 separate LXCs for Zigbee2MQTT and Mosquitto.

I’ve installed the LXCs by following this tutorial:

Now I want to make sure I’m maintaining this setup properly. Meaning: updates (from time to time).

Please mind that I’m not a Linux expert or anything like that, but I can make some bash scripts and follow tutorials, no problem :wink:

So… within the comments section, I’ve found this instruction and adapted it to my needs:

1. ssh-z2m
  2. cd /opt/zigbee2mqtt
  3. git fetch
  4. sudo systemctl stop zigbee2mqtt
  5. git checkout <TAG>
  6. npm ci
  7. sudo systemctl start zigbee2mqtt

EDIT: I’ve found that docs recommend using the script, so the workflow is a bit simpler:

1. ssh-z2m
  2. cd /opt/zigbee2mqtt
  3. ./update.sh

That’s upgrading Z2M. Questions:

1. Is there a way to automate that sensibly, so that I don’t have to run it manually? I’ve looked around Z2M frontend, but didn’t see any update options… What about like new version notification? Or do I just run it like once a month “blindly”?
  2. When running it for the first time, I was prompted to update npm as well: npm notice New minor version of npm available! 10.2.4 -> 10.7.0 – any other updates I shall run to “maintain” the LXC? I’m not sure if I should treat LXC like a normal Linux and sudo apt update or something [?].
  3. What about Mosquitto LXC?
  4. Z2M’s update.sh downloads the latest master branch from github → I guess it would still be a bit safer getting the latest version tag (“release”) instead of master?