How to use "Check Home Assistant configuration"

I’m running hass.io on a raspberry pi. I’ve got version 0.85.1 and the latest version is 0.88.2. I followed the steps for using the Check Home assistant Configuration add-on here to use this addon but I must be misinterpreting something. Should I just be looking in the “Log” box to get the output? Because I don’t see any messages indicating [Info] or [Error] there, just parts of my configuration file quoted, sometimes followed by a question mark.

I’ve never used this add-on before, should I be running something from the ssh terminal? Are the "?"s pointing me to trouble spots (like the old “Unix car” joke)?

I can post the results from the log box if that’s useful, but I’ll need to sanitize it a little first if that’s necessary.

Thanks

Yes, you look at the log. The parts of your configuration showing are where there are errors in your configuration file. They are hopefully enough to show you what to fix. When there are no errors, you will see a message in the log about no errors/successful completion (I don’t remember the exact wording).

The add-on seems to take quite a while to run, so you will need some patience. I think it took about 10 or so minutes before it completed on my Pi 3B+…

I let it run overnight. The word “error” never appears – are the ? marks all problem areas? One of these follows each of the “sun”, “logbook” and “introduction” items in my configuration, e.g. I can’t find breaking changes about these components. And none of those examples have any settings, so they can’t be misconfigured, can they?

Then I run the Check Home Assistant add-on again, and get different results:

[Info] Start install HomeAssistant latest
You are using pip version 18.0, however version 19.0.3 is available.
You should consider upgrading via the ‘pip install --upgrade pip’ command.
[Info] Install done, check config now
cp: can’t stat ‘/config/home-assistant_v2.db-wal’: No such file or directory