How to use HA to monitor six unit rental property for temp/humidity and flood detection?

I am relatively new to HA and am looking for some pointers to get started. I have a setup working at my house with the existing Wi-Fi based hardware and it’s really impressive. My parents have been battling some mold and flooding issues at their rental properties, and I see a potential for HA to be very useful for them.

Based in my experience with Wi-Fi based sensors, I do not believe that they will be reliable enough for this use case. I am looking for recommendations on sensors and protocol to use. I would prefer to keep as much hardware wired as possible, but I am not finding a lot of sensors that are wired.

The goals are:

1. Monitor temperature and humidity within the units, crawl space, and attics.
  2. Be able to trigger “dehumidify” mode on a mini-split system.
  3. Monitor for water leaks in the laundry room, utility area, and crawl space.
  4. Monitor doors to the utility areas that should not be accessed by the tenants.
  5. Possibly monitor for smoke/CO. (We’re not sure we want to do this since HA is not a real monitored service like an alarm system.)

The layout:
There are three duplexes that are side-by-side. We have internet on site already and have a utility area in each building that we could locate hardware. I would like to have one HA controller for all three buildings. If needed, we can connect the three buildings with a network for this purpose. Each building is single story and about 1,500 square feet.

Property inspections occur once a year and batteries can be replaced at that time. I am looking for recommendations on the hardware sensors to approach this with that are better quality and more reliable for long term use. I have a preference for hard wired network/power, or POE, but it looks like most sensors are battery powered. That is okay, as long as they will easily last more than a year on a set of batteries.