How to use Sonoff SV GPIO pins

Hi All, I am new to the home automation space and would like confirmation on how to use the exposed GPIO pins on a Sonoff SV flashed with Tasmota.

I want to use a sonoff sv to control my gate as well as determine whether the gate is open or closed. Controlling the gate appears to be straight forward using the sonoff in the dry contact configuration.

I am struggling to get the state(open/closed) of the gate reflected in Tasmota. The gate controller has a contact exposed which emits 2v when the gate is closed and 0v when open. I was hoping I could connect the contact and ground of the gate controller to the Signal and Ground pins of GPIO14 on the sonoff sv. However, after having tried this the 2v hitting the GPIO14 pin appears to cause the sonoff to perform a hard reset, losing all of the wifi configuration ect.

Is it possible to use a Sonoff SV GPIO pin to determine whether or not a high or low voltage is being emitted? if so what tasmota gpio pin configuration should be used (switch etc)

1 Like

Hi Warwick

I am not sure how to get the Sonoff SV to detect 2V and 0V but I setup something similar with the Sonoff SV using a reed switch to detect if a door was open or closed and then setup an automation to switch a light on and then off, you should quite easily be able to mount a reed switch to your gate in which case my example below should work.

Login to the Sonoff SV and go to Configuration --> Configure Other then set GPIO 14 sensor to switch 2 (oh and also make sure its set to Sonoff SV (3)

Then go back to Main Menu --> Console and type
switchmode1 0
switchmode2 2

The GND and GPIO14 pins are located on the row closest to the relay with the first pin on the left being GND and the last pin on the right being GPIO14 like below