How to wire a Sonoff ZBMINI L2 Extreme for UK 2-way Light Switches

As a relative novice, I struggled to work out how to install the Sonoff ZBMINI-L2 switch in my garage with (I think) fairly standard UK 2-way light switch wiring, no neutral.

The Sonoff diagram for my scenario is this one:
Screenshot 2023-05-17 at 09.11.59

The following is my noddy expanded version showing how this was applied in my setup:

I’m sure this is obvious to many but sharing here in case of help for anyone else installing this switch with UK 2-way lights.

9 Likes

Hi there,

Thanks for this. I’ve come to install one but I have a 2 gang switch instead of 2 separate switches

At top of backbox is 2 sets of cables, one on medfly I believe is upstairs landing light and one on right is the hall light which I am trying to add this module to

Top of switch;
Earth → connected to back box
COM → right hand red cable
L2 → left hand red cable
L1 → left hand blue cable

Bottom:
L2; blank
L1; black from right hand cable
COM - yellow from left hand cable

Can you advise me what I need to connect where so I can validate my internal thinking?

Sorry @Ashe - I’m really no expert on this and I can’t advise here.
From my own experience though, I found drawing diagrams really helped.

Hi,

I’ve tried to set this up myself as well, but am failing.

Can I just clarify - you originally had TWO wires in each of L1/L2 on S2 ? One of each was moved to the Lin/Lout on the Sonoff - these presumably would have been brown and blue with a brown sleeve ?

I don’t seem to have that setup - I have neutral wires in my switch box, and the permanent live is on the COM of S2 (equivalent).

I can get it wired up so the relay controls the light, but not so the switch controls the relay, plus the light is always on regardless of the position of S1, if S2 (or the relay) is on.