How to write custom component sensor to update based on time of day

Hello,
I am trying to write my first custom component for home assistant. I am trying to write a simulated sensor, similar to the simulated platform that exists. However with my simulated sensor, I am looking to have it change state based on the time of day. So as an example. Id like to write a simulated occupancy sensor where it triggers around a particular time of day. Part of the configuration may be the target trigger time and a random variance of say +/- 1 hour. The challenge I have in looking at the code for the existing simulated platform is how to get an update to trigger at a particular time of day as per the configuration of this platform.

I realize there is a sync and async method of updating these sensors and it seems it is encouraged to use the async method for efficiency and performance.

Does anyone have any ideas on how I might accomplish this? I am very new to HA development.

I also thought of just using the custom component to create the simulated sensors and use a python script to actually update the state of the sensors based on the system time.

Im sorry if what im asking for help with is not clear. I can certainly clarify further. I am basically trying to create a series of sensors that simulate real data ongoing with some sort of controlled randomness.

Thanks all

Hi,
First of all I’m not an expert at the HA internals but I have written custom components and used the backend api. What about one of these

homeassistant.helpers.event.async_track_point_in_time(hass: homeassistant.core.HomeAssistant, action: Callable[[...], None], point_in_time: datetime.datetime) → Callable[[], None][source]

Add a listener that fires once after a specific point in time.

homeassistant.helpers.event.async_track_point_in_utc_time(hass: homeassistant.core.HomeAssistant, action: Callable[[...], Any], point_in_time: datetime.datetime) → Callable[[], None][source]