Hubitat Migration/Tips Thread

I thought it might be useful for some of us who have moved from Hubitat to HA to have a place to discuss some things that are conceptually different and share tips and tricks for migration. Having gone from Iris->SmartThings->Hubitat->HA, the move to HA was certainly the most overwhelming one for me. I’ve started a list of tips below, and I certainly welcome updates/corrections/additions - I’m still fairly new to HA myself.

I’ll also mention that one handy integration when migrating is the Custom Component: Hubitat which allows you to keep your devices on Hubitat while you learn/evaluate/migrate to HA. No additional code needs to be installed on your Hubitat hub, so if you’re having performance issues, you can run only “official” Hubitat code (though some have reported still having hub slowdowns).

A few other things I found confusing/challenging:

• There is not exactly an equivalent to Hubitat’s HSM in HA. You have to activate the Manual Alarm Component (which is unintuitively called Manual instead of Alarm) to give you the virtual on/off switch for the alarm system, and then you then have to craft an equivalent safety/alarm system with automations/node-red/etc.
  • There isn’t really an equivalent to mode manager. If your “modes” are tightly coupled to your alarm states, you can naturally just use that. Otherwise, you can configure a Input Select switch and use that state to manage your “modes.” Ultimately, HE basically worked the same way except that it explicitly created that switch for you and and wrapped a little GUI around it. This is probably a bit more flexible.
  • As of June 2020, the Z-wave platform is in flux from an old integration to a new one. Personally, I think the best advice is to keep using the Hubitat hub as a z-wave controller with the above integration until the new Z-wave platform is more complete.