I am a complete beginner - want home assist on pi zero w?

Hello all. i am a complete beginner to all this , python, programming,home automation , raspberry etc etc. but i am having a go but with no success over the last 3 days
i am trying to work out if i can get Home assistant to work in my pi zero w , i believe the zero w works as i have installed noobs on it and got it working , however…
When i then try a new memory card with hass.io on , it seems to freeze at the home assistant full screen logo.
I can think of several issues the main one being i am a complete newbie and i am trying things beyond my level of experience and knowledge
I think my issue may be that i am not able to understand how to connect to the wifi despite reading on here .
Maybe that the pi zero w isn’t suitable for home assistant
any tips appreciated
Brian

1 Like

according to the hass.io hardware requirements, you need a Raspberry Pi 3 model B.

You may be able to get HA installed if you install the default OS on the Zero and then install HA on top of it.

There’s a guide in the blog to do exactly this.

1 Like

Thank you for the replies. The blog entry helps with the exception of the term SSH CLIENT
How do I know if I have one and how do I find it. . Then I will give this a go later this evening

Thanks

To save Google’s resources, the usual suspects are Terminal on a Mac or Putty in Windows which you would already be using to get as far as you have?

Thank you bobby. It’s all very new to me.
I am on a mac and yes I have used terminal but with no idea it was ssh .nor did I know what I was doing. Other than following instructions from the Web on what to type but not understanding what it meant. .
I am wanting to learn this stuff. I am close to retirement and think it will be good for the grey matter and to help get a little ahead for when my new born grandson starts to ask
Thanks . I am off up now to give this a go .

1 Like

With reference to the below from the blog, and my wifi details?