I can't understand what's going on YAML! Please help

Hi, I am a software engineer and I know a lot about programming in C, C++ specially, still I’m new with python but I can write a simple software using it. I consider myself a QUITE GOOD programmer and I have a good knowledge when it comes to micro-controllers, sensors, …etc. Stop talking about myself and let me talk about my problem here.

My project is very simple, I’m trying to control the esp8266 to switch a led using a button on the dashboard and thanks to YOUTUBE I DID IT just to test the connection first. The next step was to understand how the things work on the home assistant part, starting by creating a button to the configuration.yaml part and here’s where I got stuck. I went through a couple of examples and tutorials about YAML, home assistant and I didn’t understand the point here.

I mean yes I understand how to write YAML file, but how to write what exactly in home assistant?? What is “platform, entity, name, switch, theme,… etc.” Are those words reserved? What do I need to know so I can design a button to switch the led on/ off for example? And what is the relation between this button and the configuration.yml file? I went through all the examples on the home assistant page, I saw more than 27+ videos on youtube and still I can’t understand how the things work here.

I wish anybody can help me with this and if there any good tutorial to answer my questions it will be very helpful.

I just need a guide here people, please help me

Your question is very vague.

What software are you running on the esp8266?

Have you tried esphome?

I’m sorry for that, I wrote a simple software for the esp8266 to control a led using MQTT, like I said I followed the tutorial just to test the connection between the esp and home assistant and it work just fine.