I want to install HA on a Rpi Zero W. How do I do it? NOOB

Hi!

Is it still possible in 2022/2023? Read this blog:

This was written in 2018, almost 5 years ago. I realize what the Zero is but I live in a aparment and just what control some powerplugs and one dimmer. All are 433Mhz-based and soon a Sonos RF Bridge and a dimmer (433Mhz) will arrive in the mail I will flash with Tasmota. This is my first try with this type of tech and today I control my powerplugs with the remotes that was included. They are compatible with Tellstick and the dimmer is compatible with Nexa (also Tellstick?).

/Dave

Hi,
Wikipedia suggests the original RPi Pico W has only 512Mb of memory, which is way under the general recommendation of 2Mb of RAM (on a RPI 4). Basically, even if it runs, there is a good chance swapping to disk will flatten the uSD card quickly.

There are better options even if a RPi is not available to buy:

If this helps, :heart: this post!

So it can be done even tough the hardware isn’t optimal? Planning to use an external disk anyway if I decide to use a Rpi as I have read that the SD will eventuellt die anyway. Have no plan to buy more hardware just now. Just want to try it out.

I use the supervised installer method a few years ago

Learn that RPI Zero W (Version 1) can’t boot from external drive SSD/HDD so I need to use another way. Is there a way to boot via SD and configure HASSOS to make those “writings” that kill SD-cards to a external SSD/HDD that I connect via a OTG-adapter?

My motives here are to save a fellow maker from hours of anguish and pain, so I need to suggest again that the summary is basically:
Q: “Can I install HASS on a potato?”
A: “Technically YES, but it will take a huge wasted effort and the result will be horribly unusable”

Computer Science is no more about computers than astronomy is about telescopes.
— E. W. Dijkstra