I'm New to Hass.io, need assistane

I am new to Hass.io, and have managed to install it on my raspberry pi 3.

The overview page has nothing on it yet, except 1 switch which I setup in the configuration file.

#Switches
switch:
  - platform: rpi_gpio
    ports:
      21: Switch1

I don’t have a relay or led attached to GPIO21 as yet, so have not been able to test if it work, I suspect it does.

I now would like to create a timer for the same GPIO pin

I would like to have it come on at a specific time and then off at a specific time, I understand it will be 2 time triggers. One for switching on and One for switchin off.

The problem that I am having is that there is very little info out there that I have found (May be searching incorrect wording) that deals with GPIO’s

I am also not familiar with the hass.io configuration file as yet, to be able to understand from examples on the site.

If someone could help with the config of the above GPIO21 to be switched on at time of 18:00, I am sure I would be able to do the off time myself by learning from that code.

TIA

I can confirm that my relays are working, added the following in my config.

#Switches
switch:
  platform: rpi_gpio
  ports:
    16: GPIO16
    20: GPIO20
  invert_logic: true

There is 2 things that I would like to do now.

Firstly I would like to create a timer that triggers a GPIO to be on at a certain time.
Then secondly instead of these two GPIO’s being displayed as switches I would like them to be listed as taps.

How would I achieve both of these scenarios?

TIA

Hi there. You have to make a automation based on time to trigger the on/off at a specific time. See https://home-assistant.io/docs/automation/trigger/ for more info. I am a bit uncertain about the taps, but play around with customize to see if you find anything you like: https://home-assistant.io/docs/configuration/customizing-devices/

Cheers