I'm unable to get my Android TV to show the playing status or change the source

Hi guys

So, I’m quite new to HA and the first thing I wanted to do was to connect my TV up to HA, since I have an Android TV. I went through the steps and got the integration working, but for some reason the TV is always either listed as “Off” or “Idle”, and when I want to change the source, it shows the list of apps but doesn’t change to them, as seen in this picture. For what it’s worth, I can change the volume from here?

I’ve tried to figure out what’s going on but haven’t had much luck - I found this thread that talks about getting intents working with HA and Android TV, and this works extremely well with things like opening apps, using it to control my TV (power button, d-pad navigation etc), but it doesn’t let me see when things are playing to trigger automations off it, like turning off lights when we start watching stuff.

My TV is a Hisense TV running Android TV (version 10, with no updates available for it). I am also running HA on my Windows laptop through VirtualBox.

Sorry if I’m missing something - if so, let me know and I can get it :slight_smile:

Thanks in advanced!

There are a lot of things here, but let me say what I can’t do in my integration. I can’t switch it to terrestrial tv from integration. Probably it can be don but I will have to check adb commands and statuses.
I have powercalc integration. My tv has two integrations, one is android tv and other one is google cast. I see that you gave google cast on it.
What I did was create powercalc integration for tv using my casting device. Then I created some automations for it. When tv is on youtube or netflix it turns on led light strip on back of tv. It can also turn of the lights etc.
The down side of this solution is that it doesn’t work when I switch to terrestrial tv. Probably because tv automatically switch off casting.