Incremental Backup

I would like to propose the possibility of making incremental backups. I personally use an SD card in my Raspberry Pi and this type of backups can be of great use in this type of systems.

Thinking more on it, I don’t know if it is possible, but incremental backups in real time for regular files and daily backup for database can be a good strategy.

Thank you for reading.

But wouldn’t that mean that you would need all your backup files in order to restore?

So backup 1 is 1 GB with everything.
Backup 2 is 2 MB
Backup 3 is 10 MB

In order to restore to previous state you will need all three files?
Not sure that is going to be good.
Someone might delete the “old backup” because I don’t need that anymore and it’s just taking up a lot of space.

I think it depends on how is built in front and backend, also on user knowledge. I’m not an expert on this, but in my experience I find this type of backup strategy to be faster than standard backup.

My backup is round 100Mb and it takes several minutes to finish, but I’m afraid with Gb information to take much much longer.

Probably a solution also is to give this as an option to choose instead of turning it in the standard solution.

100MB is pretty low. Main part of backup in history database - mine has over 2GB. It’s size depends on number of entites and history days (default 10), so my backups were well over 2GB big. But, i have my HA in VM on Syno, so space or SD wear-out is not a problem, but time is… when HA updated it took ages for backup to finish. So i moved my history to MariaDB on Synology, so now my backups are under 100MB.

So, the main question is if it would work at all… as said, the biggest part of backup is history database and i doubt that this file can be backed-up partly only as a difference between two. And, since even in an incremental backup this file would be always copied (since it’s ALWAYS different from previous one) the whole thing looses it’s sense.