Inhibit use of certain switches during daytime

Hello forum,
I’m interested to set a rule for certain entities to be operational only when the sun is gone.

I think that those entities should regard a script which will set a state from active to inactive during the daylight. So if one family member wants to turn light on by tapping the relevant command, that won’t be regarded and remain inactive when the sun is above horizon.

I’m very new to start such programming, it’s very appreciated a guide.

you could use a conditional card and put all of the switches that you don’t want to be available into that and then use the sun state as the condition.

Or you could put all of those switches into a view and then use Compact Custom Header to hide that view based on the sun state.

I think there is also another custom component called “state switch” by Thomas Loven that might do what you want.

There are a few options and I’m sure I don’t know all of them but those are a few to get you started.

Well a conditional card is appealing me.

I figured it would be the most useful in what you wanted to do. That’s why it was listed first. :wink:

Back to the discussion to deep the information.
It seems that the conditional card works with a Boolean state. But I’d like to expand a little the condition which checks that the event should be earlier a certain amount of time…
I’m trying this

But is not exactly the same formula to apply to the card condition.
I put like this
conditions:
  - entity: sun.sun
    state: template
    value_template: "{{ state_attr('sun.sun', 'elevation') < 4 }}"

For the conditional card, but I’d like to have a better figure with a period of time, which is much suitable for me and doesn’t cause so much mess for a tropical area like mine. I think the conditional card doesn’t allow a list of condition.

Si I’d like to have the delay for both cases of the sun rise and set.

EDIT

I started to understand how it works.
The template should follow a jinja formula