INKERSCOOP and MIPC camera integration

Hello everybody, this is my first post here, so i hope that the section is correct.
I’m a computer science student that loves home automation :slight_smile:

Some month ago i bought 2 cheap chinese outdoor IP cameras for my parents and i would like to integrate them with a home assistant server that i made at their house. However, due to the lack of any REST API, is quite hard to generate the URL to access the camera’s images or video.

Description

The aim of this project is to understand how the INKERSCOOP cameras or in general the cameras managed by the MIPC platform communicates, in order to integrate them into Home Assistant. playstore, apk, mipc website.

MIPC is a chinese software used to controll some security cameras.
The camera that i bought is an INKERSCOOP 720P IP Outdoor WIFI camera, the installation procedure went smoothly, the build quality is good and the image quality (both in day and night mode) is pretty good for the price, so I’m overall satisfied of my purchase. The only main drawback is that it is extremely hard to connect the camera to other platforms due to the lack of any public API.

Progress so far

I’m still not capable of opening the video stream, but i made some progress with the snapshot (single frame).
I discovered that the URL of the image has this format:

http://<IP>/ccm/ccm_pic_get.jpg?hfrom_handle=887330&dsess=1&dsess_nid=<TOKEN>&dsess_sn=<USERNAME>&dtoken=p0_xxxxxxxxxx

If I use the link above into the generic ip camera component of Home Assistant i can obtain around 2fps, obviously not as smooth as a video but still quite useful for a security camera

Parameter Explanation

• hfrom_handle => no idea but it seams to be not important. The value is hard coded in the javascript files
  • dsess => again, no idea and not important (value is hard coded)