Inside ESP32 template alarm system for Home Assistant

I’d like to share an alarm system I’ve been working last weeks. The alarm is intended to be used mostly for wired alarms or in situations where the Wifi connection may be unstable. All the logic is contanied inside of an ESP32 which is controlled by Home Assistant using the Template Alarm Control Panel.

In first place I’d like to acknowledge that the inspiration of this project is coming from two sources that you might want to check out (I am by no means an expert in coding, so I had to grab parts from everywhere). First of all, this thread created by Matthew Flamm, which got me started and gave me the initial info I was lacking of. Second, the superb Alarmo integration, from which I took some great ideas as well. I combined this two sources in my current project, which is still in progress.

The services and states
The idea is to have an alarm system independent of Home Assistant, which can trigger allways despite the lack of wifi connection for wired alarms.

The system interacts with Home Assistant via Esphome services using the Template Alarm Control Panel. If the code provided in the panel is correct, then the ESP32 proceeds to arm or disarm the alarm system updating the value of the alarm template text sensor.

There are 5 states available: disarmed, armed_home, armed_away, arming (for leaving), pending (for arriving) and triggered.