Install new app on docker

I am a newbie and have HASSIO running on VirtualBox on a windows machine which is running fine.

I know it has portainer and home assistant is running in a docker within the HASSIO system. I need to install an app from github that needs to be in a docker. unfortunately docker-compose doesnt work in hassio it says command not found which is strange as i can see dockers for ha and other add ons.

Please let me know if i can create a new docker via ssh on HASSIO and how i can do that.

Thanks for your help

I think you answered your own question.

It’s not possible to do what you want in HassOS.

As far as Portainer is concerned it isn’t installed by default in HassOS so you must have installed it as an add-on. Correct?

If the app isn’t available as add-on then I’ve heard there is a way for Portainer itself to create and deploy a new container but I’ve never done it myself and have no idea how it’s done.

I would look down that path and if you can’t do it that way then your only other recourse will be to install the “Home Assistant via generic Linux install”. It’s not gone yet.

you can add any docker via portainer in at least 2 ways. manually add each parameter via the gui or even easier using docker-compose.
select stack > new stack > copy the docker-compose elements > deploy !

2 Likes

Thanks Juan, thanks for the advice. I tried to use ‘Add Stack’ option. It has build method ‘Repository’ which i added my repository “https://github.com/ned-kelly/docker-voltronic-homeassistant”. This gives me error "yaml: unmarshall errors: line 1: cannot unmarshall !!str ‘3’ into config.RawService’

the git has version: '3 in the 1st line on the docker-compose.yaml. Either it cant read the file or i am doing something wrong.

I tried to create a docker by creating image. it has option to specify docker hub “bushrangers/ha-voltronic-mqtt” and then i create a container for this image.