Install on existing NUC running Plex server

Hi everyone, I was wondering what would be my best option to install home Assistant on my NUC. I am currently using my NUC WITH Windows 10 and have my Plex server running on it.
I would rather not to have to reinstall my Plex server and just know if I can install Home Assistant OS to run in conjunction with my existing Plex server.

I have no experience with Plex but I assume a lot of data is being passed through the network connection. Extending to that… I had (!) HA installed on my Syno NAS as a docker (!) setup so that I could keep all the other things running too … and all worked fine untill I started to use the surveillance stationn with only 2 camera’s. Had issues on and off due to network traffix so this is when I separated to a NUC.

In short… no clue if you will have the same issues, you can try with a docker (?) and always move-on but if you have high network consuming elements, I personally would separate it.

1 Like

You could definitely setup docker or one of the VM hosting offerings for Windows but your best bet is going to be to bite the bullet and move to a virtualized setup. I was in your boat when I first spun up HA and tried having it in VMware player on the existing Windows machine. It was not a good time. I ended up scrapping it, installed Proxmox, and set Windows back up as a VM.

1 Like

I know you say this, but the simplest / cleanest solution would be the clean the NUC and install HAOS, then the Plex server add-on. Perhaps there is a way to save the Plex settings to a file to then restore into the Plex add-on, I’m not sure.

1 Like

Does the Plex Add on update to newer builds as they come out on other platforms? Or do you have long waiting periods between builds?

Not sure exactly how often it’s updated but it should be pretty close the the main Plex version.

So, it was updated yesterday: