Install on Ubuntu 20.04 without any container tech?

I am trying to figure out if it is possible to run on Ubuntu 20.04 without any containers (docker or otherwise).

After a bit of a research I found that there is no Ubuntu 20.04 repository for Home Assistant, and only Home Assistant Core is supported (installed via pip, if I am correct).

I am very new to Home Assistant, and the reason I want to use Home Assistant is so I can tie whole bunch of microcontroller devices and various other monitoring into one web ui control panel type of thing.

I do not want to run things in dockers (I call them vserver 2.0).

I am confused about Home Assistant Core, does it have a web ui?

Once Home Assistant is installed via any method, the feature set is largely the same. The only difference is with the Supervised installs, where you gain access to the Supervisor and Addon/Ingress support. Otherwise, you won’t be able to tell the difference from the UI. There’s nothing about Docker to be afraid of really, so I think you’re tossing out the Container option unnecessarily. In any case, you can still build a Python venv and install it there manually.

2 Likes

Thank you!

That is good to know.

I will try plain pip install route.

Docker rant:
I am not affraid of the dockers, I just had enough with the devs pulling docker images from interwebs and running them as root :wink: (just my professional experience).

2 Likes

Do you have some python skills and now how to handle venvs?

Yep, I have python/linux skills enough to cobble my own version of homeassistant, I would rather not if there is already an opensource project out there.

Just to elaborate: I was going to build a REST API end point using Flask, and then make some minimalistic web ui, then I thought why not look into homeassistant.